In my life this week…

We started using FIAR again. The kids really enjoyed using this last year and so we started back up using Beyond FIAR. You can read more about how this had affected our schooling here.

In our homeschool this week…

Science experiment Monday (we learned how soap works on dirt. The kids loved getting their hands all dirty in the mud),  Art on Tuesday, Village Home tour and Baseball on Thursday, Sonlight Consultation today.

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

Always see if you can visit a co-op to see what it’s like before you join. I learned the lesson the hard way.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

My son started baseball practice this week. This is his first year and his excitement is off the charts!

My favorite thing this week was…

Watching my kids have so much fun doing their lapbooks for The Boxcar Children and reenacting chapter one.

Questions/thoughts I have…

Does anyone have a favorite organizer they use to keep track of appointments/schedules etc.? I’ve been using an online calendar, but I really need something I can physically see and carry with me.

Things I’m working on…

Patience! Having an older child wait for a younger child to finish with something so we can move on stretches me sometimes.

I’m reading…

The Surrender of Miss Fairbourne (I never thought in a million years I would read this type of book. But I love the historical aspect).

The Hunger Games (round 2-didn’t care for it the first time, but loved the movie and am giving it another go).

The ultimate book of homeschooling ideas : 500+ fun and creative learning activities for kids ages 3-12

The read-aloud handbook  (I like Honey for the Heart better).

Family Math

I’m Cooking….

Made some awesome Split Pea soup the other night with homemade cornbread. Tomorrow we are having a Canadian stew made in the Dutch Oven and homemade Schommer’s Whole Grain Bread.

I’m grateful for…

Finding a wonderful church. We have really had a hard time in the last few years finding one we knew was the place for us.

I’m praying for…

God’s guidance in my business. It’s something I really want to tackle and be successful at-I’m just not sure it’s going to fit with our busy lives right now.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

